Bump the Bucks and Ban the Box in Rhode Island
The Ocean State caught up with the Bay State last week–at least in employee protections.
Governor Lincoln Chafee signed into law a minimum wage of $8.00 which, as of January 1, 2014, will equal the minimum wage in Massachusetts. Rhode Island raised the minimum wage in January 2013 to $7.75. Starting in the new year, Massachusetts and Rhode Island will share the distinction of having the third highest minimum wage in New England, after Connecticut ($8.25) and Vermont ($8.60).
Governor Chafee also approved a bill to prohibit private employers from asking about criminal records before conducting a face to face interview with a prospective applicant.